10 January, 2011

Messi wins FIFA Balon D'Or 2010:

FIFA Balon D'Or 2010 winner: Lionel Messi
Lionel Messi has won the FIFA Balon D'Or for the second year in a row. There can be little doubt that the "Little Genius" is a joy to watch and that comparisons to his compratiot (and fellow Number 10): Diego Armando Maradona are not far wide of the mark. It was a one, two, three for Barcelona Club De Futbal, as 2010 World Cup Final winning goal scorer: Andrés Iniesta finished second, with "Pass Master" (and fellow 2010 World Cup winner): Xavi finishing in third place in the poll. 
2010 World Cup WINNING goal scorer: Iniesta (right of pic)
Andrés Iniesta will forever go down in Spanish footballing history as the scorer of "La Rojas" first ever World Cup winning goal in 2010. It is hard to imagine how Spain and their enigmatic midfield star could top 2010 and it was Iniesta that received the ball five minutes from the end of extra-time in the World Cup Final, before smashing the ball to the Dutch net to crown Spain as one of the "All-Time Great" National Teams after "La Roja" claimed the 2008 UEFA European Championships.
Pass Master: Xavi

Though Xavi may have claimed a full house of club titles in 2009; winning the 2010 edition of the FIFA World Cup arguably eclipses any other honour in the game. The midfield metronome behind La Roja’s historic win and voted Budweiser Man of the Match in the 1-0 victories over Portugal and Germany in the Round of 16 and semi-finals respectively, the humble superstar was also vital in his club’s tussle for La Liga supremacy with Real Madrid.
Boasting a record points’ tally of 99, just two ahead of Los Blancos,  Xavi and Barça clinched the 2009/10 title on the final day of a campaign which also featured a run to the last four of the UEFA Champions League. After adding the Spanish Supercopa to his medal collection at the start of 2010/11, by the end of this calendar year the midfielder had played a remarkable tally of nearly 90 competitive matches.

Hamit Altintop of Turkey claimed the FIFA Ferénc Puskas Award 2010 for "Best Goal of the Year", which he scored for Turkey against Kazakhtan in a Euro 2012 qualifier. While it's undoubtedbly a great goal, I personally think that Glentoran's Matty Burrows scored a better goal against Portadown in the Irish League (please see the final clip on this link).

No comments:

Post a Comment