02 January, 2011

"Would I swap an All-Star for a Leinster medal? In an instant" - says Louth's Paddy Keenan: Leinster Football Final is GAA talking point of 2010:

Flashpoint: Meath's last-gasp winning "goal": 2010 Leinster Football Final

Louth reached the 2010 Leinster Football Final - their first in 53 years - but were cruelly denied a deserved victory with a "goal" (pictured above) from Meath's Joe Sheridan that should never have been allowed. Sheridan fell over the goal-line with the ball and finished by throwing it into the net to give Meath a two point lead with time up! The scenes at the final whistle (which was the next whistle) - where the referee was assaulted by fans (pictured below) of the "Wee County" - were outrageous - but that doesn't ease the disappoint for Louth players - none more so than Louth's first ever All-Star Keenan (pictured above).

Of course that incident at the end of the Leinster Final has brought the issue of goal-line technology in GAA back onto the agenda, and Croke Park are reviewing the possibilities of introducing same for the 2011 season.

The GAA has also reviewed rules regarding crowds and crowd control as a direct result of flashpoints at the final whistle of the 2010 Leinster Football Final - and now fans are barred from entering the playing area at the final whistle - with a nine-foot perimeter fence having been erected around the ground at Croke Park and other grounds around the country.

2010 Vodafone GAA All-Star Football team:
Brendan McVeigh (Down), Peter Kelly (Kildare), Michael Shields (Cork), Charlie Harrison (Sligo); Paudie Kissane (Cork), Graham Canty (Cork), Philip Jordan (Tyrone); Paddy Keenan (Louth), Aidan Walsh (Cork); Danny Hughes (Down), Martin Clarke (Down), Johnny Doyle (Kildare); Colm Cooper (Kerry), Bernard Brogan (Dublin), Benny Coulter (Down).

2010 Vodafone GAA Footballer of the Year:
Dublin's Bernard Brogan (pictured right)

No comments:

Post a Comment